Introducing…

In my last post, I promised a future post regarding our newest little addition to the family.  I am proud to present…

Eli

He looks just like Samuel in this picture.  Amazingly, all three of our boys looked the same when they were first born.  Joseph and Eli have definitely come into their own, but Eli still favors Samuel (and thus, Jeff).

He is such a good baby, he has been since he was born.  When he was around 6 weeks old I had to stop nursing him and he went on an allergy specific formula called Neocate.  Not cheap, by any means, but God has been gracious in helping provide this expensive formula for us.  Simply cutting out ALL traces of dairy from my diet wasn’t helping him but he’s been growing like a weed since switching to the formula.  Up until the switch, he was officially diagnosed with “failure to thrive” as he continued losing weight and as a mother, that is heart wrenching to watch your child not grow.  I’ve had second thoughts about it many, many times leading up to even today but I am SO thankful that he responded well to this formula as compared to the others that we tried supplementing him with while I was nursing.  Now he’s off the charts when it comes to his growth, praise the Lord!

Eli crib 5mos

He only gets fussy when he’s hungry or sleepy, and that usually doesn’t turn into a full on cry unless I am occupied and can’t get to him right away (for example if he’s hungry and we are still en route to a destination).  He loves to smile, even when he’s teething or sick!  His two bottom front teeth popped through when he was four months old and you’d never have known he was teething except for the massive amounts of drool (which my mother states I did as well, haha!).  He will be six months old on the 28th of this month and I can’t believe this first half of his first year has flown by so quickly.  He has a little cold right now and even though he’s coughing and snotting, he’s such a precious little man who smiles through it all.  I’ve been told that third babies are in general pretty easy going, would you agree if you’ve been there?

So now I will share one of my favorite verses of Scripture regarding the miracle of life:

Psalm 139:13-16
English Standard Version (ESV)
13 For you formed my inward parts;
you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.[a]
Wonderful are your works;
my soul knows it very well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
the days that were formed for me,
when as yet there was none of them.

I am praising the Lord for Eli, who was fearfully and wonderfully made, and he is another blessing from above.

One comment on “Introducing…

  1. I guess you could look at your brother Zach and have that questioned answered…he too was laid back and eli reminds me a lot of him. I’ve always told people that the 3rd child (and those after) was no harder than the first two. Exceptions of course. I am uncertain tho as to who he looks like….I often see faces of Samuel and I also see faces of Joseph… So I am excited to see just who our Eli is going to look like…I just hope he keeps grandma’s blue eyes.

Leave a Reply

