Season of Thanksgiving

Yesterday was America’s national observance of Thanksgiving. Now observed on the fourth Thursday of November, it has become more about stuffing our faces with a protein of choice (typically turkey but some do venison or ham), lots of side dishes and desserts galore. Then many people settle in for a nice, long afternoon nap or an afternoon of TV watching. However you chose to observe this national day of thanks, I hope yours was a bountiful one in all aspects.
As a family, yesterday was a wonderful day for me as it was the first day in a long, long time that I was able to spend the ENTIRE day with my husband and children with absolutely no concrete plans. This was important to me because Jeff and I have been working extra hard in the last three months. He has had to work a lot of OT at work, and I’ve been working two jobs plus we’ve both been working hard on keeping our humble abode clean (or somewhat clean on our busiest of days!)
To have a day with no plans, no jobs, nothing but spending the day together was so exciting. This is what I am truly thankful for-my family. Take away everything else, as long as I have my precious boys I have more than I could have ever asked for. I have Jesus in my heart and this means I have absolutely everything I need. My verse of meditation this week has been Psalm 107:1 – Oh give thanks to the Lord for He is good, for his steadfast love endures forever! Oh what an amazing verse to remember every moment of every day. God truly is good all the time, He is holy all the time and He deserves our praise and adoration ALL THE TIME! This is what this season of thanksgiving should be about as we enter into this time where commerciality (yes I just made my own word) reigns. Jesus is the one who reigns, and let us always remember this and give thanks! I hope as you tread into this Christmas season this year, you are touched deeply by the One who takes away the sins of the world!

Remember as you gaze at these lights this season…

the true reason for our Christmas season is the light of the world, Jesus!

Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life. -John 8:12

Leave a Reply

