The Rose of Winslow Street Book Review

I received a new book from Bethany House Publishers in the mail yesterday as part of their blogger book review program.  I started reading it last night and got halfway through the book before I forced myself to put it down.  Today, I finished it because, you know, the laundry can wait!  What another delightful book from Bethany House Publishers!

The main character, Liberty Sawyer, or Libby as everyone calls her, is a self confessed “illiterate spinster” who lives with her father, Professor Sawyer in Colden, Massachusetts.  As they are vacationing off the coast of Massachusetts with her brother Jasper’s family, a family of Romanian expatriates moves in to their home in Colden.  The book unravels the story of the home’s original owner, Constantine Dobrescu, and the will which left the home to his heir in Romania.  As a court battle for the home ensues, a love story unravels between Libby and Mikhail (Michael) Dobrescu.

As with all stories I’m enthralled with, this story touched me on a personal level.  The love story between Michael and Libby touched a nerve for me because as Michael loved Libby for what she was, so too my husband loves me for what I am.  As Libby battled with a learning disability and therefore in 1879 that meant being illiterate, in 2001 I battled with inner demons and started letting those inner demons win.  I figured I was worthless, and started to act out in such a way that gave off an air of worthlessness.  But Jeff saw right through that, and saw a beauty in me that God created, a worth that only God could make me see in myself.  So this story touched me in ways I can’t even begin to describe.

This is a very touching story, and I recommend it!!  Have a blessed day!

I received this book free of charge from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for an honest review of the book on my blog.  The opinions expressed here are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review of the book.

Leave a Reply

