Image

Vigilante book review

I just finished the book Vigilante by Robin Parrish last night.  I stayed up late just to finish it.  Pretty much from the moment I started reading this book it was hard to put down.  Unfortunately, due to my hectic schedule lately I took a month to finish it.  I highly recommend this book for those of you who like plot twisting contemporary fiction.  I was enthralled even when I wasnt reading because I was trying to figure out where Mr. Parrish was going to take me on this reading adventure.
I have been trying to think all morning how to blog about this book.  Basically, its about a man, a war veteran, Nolan Gray, who wants to clean up New York City and engage people from apathetic to empathetic regarding their fellow man.  He wants to show them a “better way”.  He enlists the help of his old war hero general, Branford, and another super-techy friend named Arjay.  On his journey through cleaning up NYC he learns some valuable lessons along the way for himself about brotherly love and facing his own buried demons.
This was a refreshing novel to read, especially for the amount of introspection I have been doing lately regarding my deeply rooted sins and allowing the Holy Spirit to enable me to root them out and replace them with the fruit of the Spirit.  It truly is amazing how the Lord has brought everything together in my life to reinforce the Scripture in my heart.  At the end of Vigilante, this is where Nolan realizes God has brought him, too.

At the cross, at the cross, where I first saw the Light, and the burden of my heart rolled away.  It was there by faith I received my sight, and now I am happy all the day!
These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace.  In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.  -John 16:33

I received this book from Bethany House Publishers free of charge as part of their blogger book review program.  I am not required to write a positive review, just my honest opinions!

Leave a Reply

