Image

Time can stop flying now…

2011 picture

My beautiful boys

It is evening and I am sitting here in front of my laptop getting ready to finish up some work.  I can’t help but sit here and contemplate how fast the days are going.  It helps that I was watching a screen saver on my computer with pictures of the boys, from when Samuel was a newborn to now.  They are sitting across from me on the couch, being brothers – so cute together.  Joseph wanted a sock taken off, and I asked Samuel to help him.  It just amazes me that they are old enough now that I can ask them to help each other instead of needing me to help them with all of their daily tasks.  It can be liberating on one hand, because I can now sit here and do some work while they quietly play together before our bedtime routine begins.  It can also be daunting, on the other hand, because when I think about it, in no time at all they will be tweens, then teens, then off to explore the world on their own.  The days of cute ways of saying words in their toddler speak will change to me reading their 12 page term papers in high school to check for editing errors.  I know I am so getting ahead of myself but I am constantly trying to take mental images of things they are doing or writing down the cute words they have for different things so I won’t forget them.  I want to savor every moment of their existence.  I also want to honor the LORD in how I am raising them.  I have tried to make sure that every step of the way, from their C-section births to the nighttime feedings and diaper changes, to when they wake up sick and need extra TLC, through Joseph’s long colicky days and nights, that every.little.thing I am thankful for because they are all such amazing blessings.  I know I’ve failed to do this through many moments, but as I draw near to God I am reminded of how much I have been blessed through Jeff and the boys.  God heard.  God added.  God, you are amazing!

Lord, it is my prayer that every moment of every day I will be thankful for what you have done for me, that I will sing your praises, that your rod and staff will comfort me, that I will rise early in the morning to prepare the domain you have chosen to bless me with and will help me strive to be the virtuous woman, whose price is far above rubies.  Let me take no moment for granted.

In the 20 minutes it has taken  me to contemplate this post and write these sentences to you, my virtual followers, Samuel is now sitting on my lap and Joseph is sitting next to me holding tightly on to my hair (that’s his thing lately) and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

“Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward. As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth.”

Psalm 127:3, 4

Leave a Reply

