Can it really be??

I started a post over a month ago and dumped it in the “drafts” box because I wasn’t really sure where I wanted to go with it.  I’ve done that more than once, started something and then decided it wasn’t what I really wanted to say and then trashed it.  Wouldn’t it be nice if we did this more often with our words that we actually say in real life?  We are in a sermon series at church (www.yourchurch.com if you would like to check out the sermons, great listening, I highly recommend them!) on the tongue entitled “O Be Careful Little Mouth…” and it, of course, has been God tugging at my heart to really examine some issues in my life.  All of the Scripture has been so convicting, because I have not tamed the tongue with certain things in life.  I am really allowing God to work through these issues in my life, surrendering all to Him, including the tongue.  Pastor Mark has encouraged us to really “think about our thinking” and I must say that God has rooted some Scripture in my heart to allow me to be more introspective of everything filtering through my mouth that comes from my head and heart.  I have been more responsible in my words to my husband, to my sons, to my family, to my friends.  I want to make sure that I am putting my devotion to God in action (thank you Jerry Bridges! I am referencing Practice of Godliness, another recommendation!) and making sure that my relationship with Jesus is first and foremost before anything.

James 3:1-12

Matthew 12:34

http://www.yourchurch.com/mediafiles/o-be-careful-little-mouth-1what-you-say.pdf

Leave a Reply

