A Midwest Kind of Gal

Last night I went to a study at a friend’s house.  We finished up around 9:30 and I had about a 30 minute drive home.  At first I did what I always do, click it on KLove and start singing along to whatever is playing.  It was a beautiful night and I had my windows down enjoying the cool breeze as I cruised home.  Then as I was contemplating what we discussed in our time together as well as the Scriptures that went along with our study I reached up and turned the radio off.  I wanted to embrace this precious quiet time God had given me.  It also gave me some time to really reflect on the grace of my Lord and the trip I have taken from when I was young sitting outside on the grass watching the sunset over a cornfield and basking in the quietness of a Midwest summer night to where I am now.
I still really love to watch a sunset over a cornfield.  Maybe it’s because I grew up in Iowa or maybe God gave me a special place in my heart for the beauty of the patchwork quilt that is Midwestern farmland.  I love driving the gravel roads in-between farms in the middle of nowhere (although that is more prevalent in Iowa it seems, the roads here in Indiana are all paved) and listening to the wind blow through the corn.  I have a very specific memory of sitting outside on our porch swing in Iowa and listening to the rain come in.  Rainstorms always brought a little break from the heat.  Yet another reason I love the Midwest.  A summer storm doesn’t bring more humidity and sweltering heat but a much needed (albeit small) break from the long, hot, sweaty summer days.  I never experienced this while living in the south.  Rain equaled more humidity than we thought was possible to endure.  I sure do remember the amazing lightning storms though.  God is amazing.  He is our shelter and our refuge.  I never cease to be amazed at His creation, His protection, His grace or His mercy.

Psalm 31:3 – For thou art my rock and my fortress; therefore for thy name’s sake lead me, and guide me.

Leave a Reply

