The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

It is March… finally!  Ever since I was a little girl the first day of March has always been a special day for me.  It is getting closer to the end of winter and spring is right around the corner.  As a young school girl I learned that March comes in like a lion or like a lamb, meaning weather in March is always unpredictable here in the Midwest.  (I grew up in Iowa and now reside in Indiana.  I went to high school in Florida and I have to say that I truly love the changing of the seasons, and winters and snow, which make me ever more thankful for the spring and the reminder of God’s promises.  The extreme heat of the south in the summer isn’t my cup of tea, but I digress…)  This March 1st came in like a beautiful little lamb… sunny, breezy, a little chilly, yes, but you could get outside and have a lovely day as long as you wore a fleece jacket or sweatshirt.  March also has some very important days for me.  March 17th is my birthday and March 27th is mine and Jeff’s anniversary.  This year, 2011, marks some poignant moments for these two dates.  On March 17th I will be 35.  35!!  Ugh… 35.  I am so blessed to have lived these 35 years, but for some reason I am still struggling with being in this season of life known as “my thirties”.  That huge but is becoming a huge problem for me.  I should be able to say I am blessed to have lived these 35 years without any hesitation or note of melancholy whatsoever.  So why do I have that huge but in the way?  Why am I struggling with the other side of my life so much?  Yes, I said it, too.  The other side.  I mentioned to Jeff the other day on March 1st that I was 16 days away from the beginning of the downward hill into old age.  I am almost 5 years away from (dare I say it???) 40!!!! It’s funny, because I remember when my parents turned 40 and thinking that they both looked so great for being 40.  They sure didn’t look 40, that’s for sure.  Maybe that is part of my problem, I may or may not look 35 (I feel I do) and I hate that I am so vainly thinking about it.  So I have made it my goal to meditate on Scripture that reminds me of just how truly blessed I am and that age ain’t nothin’ but a number, right?  To think that Sarah was much, much older than this dreaded 35 when God decided to bless her with a child!  Shame on me for wallowing in self-pity for turning 35.  (Sidenote: the more I type 35 the more it sinks in by the way, and it’s not as harsh.)  As I sit here holding my son, I am reminded that God has blessed me exceedingly abundantly more than I could ever ask and so I am thinking that I need to look at 35 as a blessing and not a curse.  Besides, we are never promised tomorrow, life is but a vapor and I need to be thankful for the bread He hath given me for today!

The other date, March 27th, marks our 7 year wedding anniversary.  We will have been together 9 years on April 12th.  Jeff is the most wonderful, amazing, beautiful man and I can’t believe I am married to him!  God has given me such a wonderful marriage and a crazy awesome husband!  I was reflecting on this today as our speaker at MOPS spoke on “Finding the Hero in your Husband” and I have a lot to learn from Scripture on how to be a more honoring, respectful and submissive wife.  This week I have chosen Phillipians 4:8 (Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.) to meditate upon and I am so thankful that I can count my marriage as one of the things that is lovely and pure to think upon.  I am blessed to have a husband who desires to honor the Lord and who treats me with love and compassion.  Something else I’ve been asking the Lord to do is to root out my sinful thoughts and attitudes and replace them with these thoughts in Phil 4:8.

Thank you Holy Spirit for your conviction, for working in my heart to reveal the sin patterns that You desire to replace with a life of holiness and devotion to an Almighty God!!  I am turning my eyes upon Jesus and looking FULL in HIS wonderful face!

Leave a Reply

