Connecting with God in the margins

I went to my first MOPS group meeting yesterday.  I was pleasantly surprised at how well it went.  I have some wonderful women at my table (the yellow table!) and I am excited to start getting involved in some of the groups.  I was a little nervous going in, as I have been very hesitant to start building relationships outside of my marriage.  There are quite a few reasons for this, mainly just fear at being treated the same as how I was treated by other people in my past.  I think becoming a mom has changed something internally, as I am very eager to start building relationships with other women now.  Part of it is needing advice from other mommies, part of it is needing accountability and encouragement from other Christian women, and part of it is just needing some adult conversation.  Don’t get me wrong, I love playing with my children and having endless conversations with them about the moon, Buzz Lightyear, Mickey Mouse and Jesus (those convos are the best!) but I also need to talk about grown up things.  And, as much as I love my husband and the adult conversations I have with him, it is healthy for me to have other adult female relationships.

The speaker at our brunch yesterday was a fellow College Park MOPS mom, Emily, and she talked with us about connecting with God in ways that are “out of the box”, especially for mommies.  I think this talk was more poignant for me in the season of life I am in now, as it seems that some days are busier than others.  Her most important point was that if you don’t know Jesus as your savior, to allow Him to be your savior.  Her second most important point was that if you aren’t reading the Word to connect with God, you aren’t really connecting to Him.  Then, her “out of the box” ideas started to come to life.  It was great to hear that there is nothing wrong with me if my “time with God” isn’t the following:

1.  Bible

2. journal

3. cup of something warm

4. hour

5. check! your “quiet time” is done

Now, there are many, many people who are able to do this every day and that is great, for you.  I was starting to get down on myself because I wasn’t able to get up at 6 am every morning and start my day out with an hour of quiet time with the Lord.  BUT, I am able to wake up and read with the boys during breakfast, and continue my time with God throughout the day.  I have always been one who prays continually throughout the day, for many different reasons and for many different things/people.  I have posted verses around the house before so that I am able to commit Scripture to memory, I think I’ll start doing that again.  I have never been very good at journaling.  I’ve tried to start it many, many times in my life, starting when I was a little girl all the way up until a few months ago.  I am able to connect with God in other creative ways though, and I plan on implementing more of those as time goes along.  I was just discussing with a dear friend the other day how I feel like other moms have it all together, and are super moms so to speak because they seem to be able to do all of these activities with their children, have a great/clean home, do activities outside of the home without the children, etc.  I have to be ok with the fact that I can’t and won’t be able to do it all.  Some days I feel like falling apart at the grocery store because I have a hard time getting groceries, keeping the boys content and remembering everything that I need.  The story of my life seems to be to come home and think, oh man, I forgot this, or that, or this AND that!  Even with lists, I seem to forget at least one item if not two.  Anyways, I digress… the whole point is that I have been connecting with God and I didn’t feel like it was enough.  BUT it is!  I have a journaling Bible (a beautiful gift from my husband) that has side margins that are extra wide for taking notes.  I know a lot of people do not like to mark in their Bibles, but I do.  I talk to God, I praise Him, I write my fears, my biggest joys, I pray, I underline passages that really spoke to me in the moment and write down what it is that impacted me.  I do soooo many things in the margins and between the lines in my Bibles that I can look back and see God moving in my life.  I have always known He was moving and challenging and speaking to me, I guess I just figured it wasn’t good enough because I didn’t spend a certain amount of time or write everything down in a little journal.  Why in the world am I saying all of this??  I want  you to know that we all have our different ways of connecting with the Lord.  My ways are different than Jeff’s ways which are different than your ways.  I think I’m going to do a study on how God speaks to different people in the Bible, and I’ll get back to you on how that has impacted me!

1 Thus says the LORD: “Heaven is my throne,
and the earth is my footstool;
what is the house that you would build for me,
and what is the place of my rest?
2 All these things my hand has made,
and so all these things came to be,
declares the LORD. But this is the one to whom I will look:
he who is humble and contrite in spirit
and trembles at my word.

-Isaiah 66:1-2

Leave a Reply

