The Wisdom of the Ages

The title of my post really has nothing to do with what I am about to say, but it sure sounds nice doesn’t it?  I have been reflecting a lot lately on age though.  I am currently 34.  I thought turning 30 was bad, but I have this impending feeling about 35; I’m not really sure I want to get any older.  Then there’s my children, who just turned 2 and 1 on August 27th and September 3rd.  I feel like Joseph was just born, so why is he turning 1 already?  Then there’s the children I used to babysit.  Adam, the oldest, is in his freshman year of high school and just turned 15 recently.  Really?????  I remember holding him as a baby like it was yesterday.  II am looking forward to seeing all of them in their high school sports/college sports as time passes!  As well as my own boys, I can’t wait to see what God has for them in the future.)  Time does go fast, but yet if we put it in perspective of what God has to say about it, life really is just a vapor.  The thought of time going by so quickly is making me rethink some things.  I’ve decided to put life’s priorities in their proper places, and step out of the “rat race” if you will.  Now, some of you will look at that and say “Jaime, you were never in the rat race!”

I beg to differ.

If you are chasing after material things and/or status and/or acceptance, then I say you are entrenched in what the world has to offer and I believe that what God has to offer is so much more.  I’ve known this for a long while, but still tried to live with one side of me wanting to be in the world and the other side of me always thinking of my eternal path.  I think it is easy in our Americanized lives to forget that there is an eternal aspect of our lives.

So what exactly have I reprioritized? I am learning to live with less.  I was definitely after material things and the approval of man.  I wanted to give my children the best, nice clothes, fun and exciting toys, the latest and greatest technological toys for my husband.  The list can go on and on.  I’ve coveted after my friends’ “bigger and better” things, not realizing all the while that God has blessed us with what we have or don’t have for a reason.  It is not easy living frugally when society says to go after it all!  I have gone through our modest apartment and found things that I need to get rid of.  Even though by American values I am considered “lower class” because of our income level and the amount of square feet that we live in, but yet I am reminded that we are richer than most.  I have seen and heard of countless people going somewhere besides America only to realize that Americans have SO MUCH more than anyone else in the world.  Perhaps this is something that I’m realizing and if you are reading this you have already come to this conclusion in your life.  If so, please pray for me as I allow God to search my heart and work through these issues.  If you need prayer for anything in your life, please contact me, I’d be happy to add you to my prayer list!  I’d also love to have some accountability, so please ask me how I am doing.

Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”— yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.” As it is, you boast in your arrogance. All such boasting is evil. -James 4:13-16 ESV

Leave a Reply

