Rachel’s Testimony

This week in church we had baptisms before service started and it was a beautiful reminder to me of my journey with the Lord.  There were two baptisms, a young man I believe named Nick and a young woman named Rachel.  Rachel’s testimony touched my heart, because it gave me a fresh mental image of my own baptism in faith and the journey I was on to reach where I was at that point.  Funny enough, God gave me a chance to share that with Rachel later on in the service because I had to use the women’s room at one point and as I was walking over to wash my hands at the sink there Rachel was.  You may be reading this and thinking well why is that something to be talking about here?

I have always been quite the introvert until I get to know someone.  Beyond just being shy, I have always had a difficult time making connections with people.  The few times that I have reached out to make a connection, it usually backfired on me and had me retreating back into myself and staying there for quite some time.  This is something that I have been working on in the last six months, trying to rekindle old relationships with friends via either social networks or starting new relationships, particularly with other women through church.  So to get back to Rachel, I decided to let her know that her sharing of her testimony and her baptism were a blessing to me.  Basically, that’s all I said but through that reaching out she started a conversation with me and we both gave glory to God for the connection we made with each other.  After going back to my seat and listening to the sermon (which by the way God so masterfully connected to what had just happened in the restroom by using Pastor Mark to point out that we can’t just walk past people and not attempt to make connections with them and reach out to them because you never know what they might need or how we might be able to minister to them, i.e. taking care of the “little ones”) and after getting our children out of the nursery and walking towards the exit we happened to run in to Rachel in the foyer.  I was able to introduce her to Jeff and the boys and we exchanged phone numbers and now I’ll be able to nurture this new connection into a relationship.  I hope that I can be a blessing to her as much as she was a blessing to me by sharing her testimony in front of our church that morning.  The whole point to this particular blog is that I want to stop being the old Jaime and allow God to work through me to reach out to others.  I cannot be beholden to the flesh that wants to keep everything safe in my little bubble.  I want to focus on others and how God can minister to them through this vessel that is me.  That still sounds so me focused, but that is exactly what I don’t want to happen.  Less of me, more of God.

Rejoice evermore. Pray without ceasing. In everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.  -1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Leave a Reply

